The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

CPSIA Hearing – *CANCELLED*

The hearing has been canceled – PLEASE do not let up, continue contacting your Congressmen. There is still time to get this changed.

________________________________________________________________________

Get in touch with your Congressmen and get them there! Links to your Congressmen are in the post below, “National Bankruptcy Day”

Subcommittee on Commerce, Trade, and Consumer Protection

HEARING NOTICE

The Subcommittee on Commerce, Trade, and Consumer Protection will hold a hearing on Wednesday, December 10, 2008, at 10:00 a.m. in room 2123 Rayburn House Office Building. The hearing is entitled “Implementation of the CPSIA: Urgent Questions about Application Dates, Testing and Certification, and Protecting Children.” This is an oversight hearing examining implementation of Public Law 110-314 (H.R. 4040, the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act (CPSIA)). Witnesses will be by invitation only.

The staff briefing for this hearing will be held on Monday, December 8, 2008, at 4:00 p.m. in room 2322 Rayburn House Office Building.

If you have any questions concerning this hearing, please contact Judith Bailey or Christian Tamotsu Fjeld with the Committee staff at extension 5­2927.

_____________________________________

BOBBY L. RUSH

CHAIRMAN

3 comments on “CPSIA Hearing – *CANCELLED*

  1. Froggy
    December 6, 2008

    I wrote to all the people in the below link. I have always wanted to offer knit baby blankets but this would prevent me from providing this service. How very sad!

  2. Shelagh
    December 12, 2008

    I’ve already started taking some items off of my website; haven;t touched my Etsy shop yet. The irony is that I started my own business because I was tired of the lack of products made in America for my own children, frustrated that nothing was handmade.

    Now the federal government is determined to ensure that I can only access junk made in sweatshops.

    Thank you for sharing your excellent writing. I’m sure it’s tough not to get emotional over this. Your work is beautiful.

  3. grecowoodcrafting
    December 12, 2008

    Thank you, Shelagh 🙂

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2008 by and tagged , , .