The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Slow Down: Cliches at Work

I like to push myself. I enjoy trying new things in my shop and seeing what works. Sometimes I’m surprised that a particular idea worked, other times I’m surprised it didn’t. But trying new ideas is vital to growing as an artist.

For the past week I’ve been working on a new idea. It’s big. It’s so big that it actually has me wondering if it’s too big. Is there such a thing? Can you actually have an idea that is too big, or is it that we are just too afraid to fail? Part of me hates the idea of failing simply because that means either my idea wasn’t good enough or I simply couldn’t execute it properly. But another part of me is afraid to fail because of the monetary investment this particular idea will take.

We all know the cliches – You reap what you sow. Go big or go home. Balls out (which actually has nothing to do with male genitalia). Despite my concerns, my fears, I’m going to do exactly that. I’m going to grab the bull by the horns.

I would rather fail and know I tried my best than never try and wonder “What if?”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2012 by and tagged , .
