The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

January is Rough

I’m not a big fan of January.

It has a lot of great things, don’t get me wrong. Of course there’s the start of a new year, my daughter’s birthday and getting to do indoor activities together as a family. But creatively speaking, I really don’t like it.

There’s the cleanup from the Holidays, the planning of said daughter’s birthday party, filing Q4 sales tax from the previous year, getting my ducks in a row to file our taxes (which means taking inventory) and the general hustle and bustle of getting the kids back into their school routine after having a week off. That usually leaves me feeling the urge to get back into my workshop. Badly.

Cold weather doesn’t help. The shop takes a good couple of hours before it heats up to a comfortable working temperature, but it’s getting out there to begin with that is really the hard part this time of year. Meanwhile, my head is buzzing with new ideas.

The good news in all of this is that yes, my head really is buzzing with new ideas. I have some cool new high end pen designs that I think will make you do a double take. I don’t want to give it away, but I’ll tell you it involves more than simply turning a piece of wood into a pen (although there isn’t really anything simple about doing that well). And of course I can’t wait to get started on my new line of acrylic pens. I’ve looked through each piece of acrylic and inspected all of the hardware, these are really going to be great introductory pens.

So if you’re waiting for new content on my website, don’t fret. It’s in the works, it’s just that January is rough.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2012 by and tagged , .
