The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Getting it ‘Write’

Bloodwood, Wenge, and Zebrawood cigar pens by Greco Woodcrafting

In an interview I read once with a well known woodworker, he said woodworking is a journey- you never know exactly where it will take you or what you will wind up making.

As Greco Woodcrafting approaches the 3 year anniversary mark, I couldn’t agree with that statement more. I’ve made toys for children, toys for grown ups, clocks, fiber tools of all sorts, large solid wooden cubes, bowls, and most recently, pens.

Pen making was something I was reluctant to get into. The necessary equipment was a deterrent, not because it was too expensive, but more because 1) I didn’t know if I would enjoy it, and 2) I didn’t know if others would be interested in my pens. But after talking to a buddy who also makes pens, his excitement rubbed off on me and I ordered everything I needed.

WOW! I’m really glad I did. Not only do I enjoy it (the lathe is the most fun tool in the workshop, in my opinion), but my customers love the pens, too! I’ve also expanded from working with just wooden pens to making some acrylic pens. The acrylic is interesting, because what you see on the rectangular pen blank might be totally different once you start turning it on the lathe.

 

Urban Camo Pen

Urban Camo Pen

Green Camo Pen

Green Camo Pen by Greco Woodcrafting

In the very near future will be my first attempt at using tru-stone, a pen that looks like it was made from white marble. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2011 by and tagged , , .
