The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Now Writing for Examiner.com!

As a small business owner, I wear a lot of hats. Of course I design and build all of the pieces I sell. Then there’s marketing, networking, branding, shipping, bookkeeping, tax preparation, and I’m also the primary care giver for our 2 kids and do the cooking and oh wow….where do I find the time?

Well the truth of the matter is I had back surgery 4 years ago. I’ve become very in-tune with my back and when it’s telling me I need to slow things down. That means my actual workshop time can be anywhere from 0 to 4 or 5 hours on any given day. So that leaves me a good chunk of time to do those other things, plus some.

Something else you undoubtedly didn’t know is that a long time ago I wrote a book. It was more of a guide of sorts, only a few family members ever read it. It was more for me to see if I could, and once I finished it I was content. You see, I love to write, but I’ve never really considered myself a writer. Writers are usually English majors who are profoundly more well read than I am. I have a degree in Political Science and started a woodworking company- that doesn’t exactly scream “I’m a writer”.

But, since starting my business nearly 3 years ago I’ve immersed myself in every aspect of it. I’ve networked. I’ve studied the design concepts of others, and what led them to think of creating what they made. And so when I saw Examiner.com was looking for somebody local to Philadelphia to write about artisans and crafters, I felt that was a fantastic opportunity for me.

I get to write, something I enjoy and think I’m fairly good at, about artists and crafters, something I know a good deal about. My first article, “Can art and business co-exist?” was originally published here on my blog. But I felt it was a really good introduction for new readers on Examiner.com to understand my thoughts on art and what sort of future articles they can expect from me. I’m going to be highlighting successful businesses that are run by artists local to Philadelphia. This includes Philly, the Philly suburbs and of course, the Jersey Shore. Just ask any Philadelphia native where they go to beat the Summer heat!

Are you an artisan or crafter living in this area and interested in having your business featured? Let me know! I look forward to hearing from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2011 by and tagged , , .
