The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Classic Wooden Walnut Clocks

I love working with exotic wood. Bloodwood, Zebrawood, Purpleheart- woods that you don’t see every day. But there’s something timeless and classy about Walnut that really puts it at the top of my list.

I’ve made a couple of wall clocks from Walnut. This particular one was curly Red Oak framed with Black Walnut. It sold in two days for $64.99.

Walnut and Curly Red Oak Wall Clock by Greco Woodcrafting

Walnut and Curly Red Oak Wall Clock by Greco Woodcrafting

 

I really liked the way the frame ran end-to-end, so I made another clock from Oak and Walnut, this time with some additional inner ‘frames’. It has also sold.

Framed Oak and Walnut Wooden Clock by Greco Woodcrafting

Framed Oak and Walnut Wooden Clock by Greco Woodcrafting

What does that tell me? I’m not the only one who likes the look of a Walnut clock. Is it the rich, warm tone? Is it the way the hand rubbed tung oil finish highlights the grain? I don’t think there’s any one thing you could put a finger on and say, “Yes! That’s why I like it.”

I’m looking forward to making some desktop Walnut clocks in the near future. Keep an eye out on my website for availability!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2011 by and tagged , , , , .
