The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

The Wait is Over

A short while back I explained I have been busy working on something, but that you would need to wait a little bit longer to see exactly what it was. The wait is over! I’ve been hard at work making a custom ordered thorny vine hourglass from Padauk. But that’s not what the big secret was- of course my customer, who worked closely with me through the entire design phase, knew exactly what I was making.

The big secret was the video I made, documenting the entire process from the start as a big slab of wood to the finished product. I burned it to DVD and included it with the hourglass, believing my customer had been such an integral part of designing this that he would like to have something showing what he participated in from hundreds of miles away. The design itself is largely based on a tattoo that he has, making this particular piece that much more personal. It arrived yesterday, and what did he have to say about it?

“I love it just what I wanted in every way. Thanks so much for putting all the time and effort and helping me design this and make it fun.”

So without further ado, here is the video, The Making of the Padauk Thorny vine Hourglass by Greco Woodcrafting:

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2011 by and tagged , , , .
