The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Making Strides Against Breast Cancer

My mother was diagnosed with breast cancer 2 years ago, and I’m happy to say today she is cancer free. But the road from the initial diagnosis to today has been long and bumpy for her. She had to get a mastectomy and multiple follow-up surgeries, the details of which I will spare you.

Despite being a 2 year survivor, she still struggles daily. The surgeries have left her right arm and hand with little mobility and strength, though she does her best not to let it show. She still gets bouts of terrible nausea from the medicine she will be on for the next 3 years. And through it all, she has been the most courageous woman I’ve ever met.

This October, the 24th, she and I will be walking for the 2nd year in the Making Strides walk in Paramus, NJ. I urge you to please consider sponsoring me. Not only would it mean so much to both my mother and me, but the money really is put to good use.

I’m often amazed at how many people in an office will buy things for school fund raisers. Wrapping paper, candy, candles. I know money is tight in this economy, but if given the choice between wrapping paper or making a donation I hope you choose the donation.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2010 by and tagged , .
