The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Tools of the Loom by Greco Woodcrafting

*Edit* Though I am no longer making fiber tools, I may still have some in stock. Contact me if interested in seeing what I have.

Yes, it has been a while since I blogged, but I have good reasons. Really, I do! The end of the summer snuck up on us and we found ourselves thinking “Wait, we didn’t get to do this or go there yet!”, and so, much free time (is there such a thing?) was spent as fun family time 🙂 I’ve been hard at work with the Handmade Toy Alliance as well and although frustrating at times, feel there may be some relief ahead on the CPSIA.

Probably the biggest news is that I’ve decided to open a new shop at 1000markets.com called Tools of the Loom by Greco Woodcrafting. The reason for starting it has a couple of stories. It began when I noticed how drawn people were to some of the more rare woods that I’ve been using lately. It wasn’t anything they said, it was in how they held the pieces, or the look on their face while running a finger over the wood. I started to think about what I could make that people would enjoy using, and that was made from distinct and exotic wood.

Some time after this, a friend called me up. She’s really into weaving (and is much better than she’ll admit), and she had a request. Could I make some tools for her from some really nice wood? We’re not talking about Maple or Oak, which are both nice in their own right (though somewhat common).  It had to be something that was as visually appealing as it was useful. A piece of Purpleheart later, and I decided this was exactly what I was looking for to add to my line. So what kind of wood do I use for the stick shuttles and pick up sticks I’m making now?

Bloodwood, Mahogany, Purpleheart, Walnut, Wenge, Yellowheart, and Zebrawood are all currently available. In the upcoming weeks I plan to add Bolivian Rosewood, deep red Cherry and Lacewood. I’ve decided to use my favorite finish on these- a hand rubbed mixture of tung oil and shellac. The tung oil penetrates into the wood and hardens while the shellac offers an additional protective coat. After the 3rd coat, the wood has a high gloss with a smooth as glass finish.

I’m still making my toys, and this isn’t a total separation from my original intent. I still get to make something that people will enjoy using. Of course my commitment to quality remains, as well as my partnership with the Arbor Day Foundation. Just like my toys, for every 5 weaving tools sold a tree will planted through a donation.

As if this isn’t interesting enough, my friend is also sponsoring a “Not-a-contest Contest” where the winner gets up to $28 worth of my weaving tools in the sizes and wood type of their choice!

And so there you have it. I promise not to let so much time pass before my next blog entry, really 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2009 by and tagged , , , .
