The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

My New Favorite Store

woodMost people probably wouldn’t think of a lumbermill as a store, but I certainly do. And after today, I have a new favorite.

South Jersey Lumberman’s in May’s Landing is absolutely fantastic. I went there today and was toured from section to section by Steve, the owner of the mill. The approximate 10,000 square feet of building they use for lumber housing and work space was simply awe inspiring, especially for somebody like me who is working out of just under 200 sf. Steve was not only a gracious host, he even made a few cuts on pieces that he normally doesn’t allow.

I was there getting wood for a few projects I’m working on, one of which was replacing the Purpleheart for my daughter’s biplane since the piece I had developed checks from end to end (that’s what I get for trying to use a green piece of wood and letting it air dry first).

The wood in the picture on the left top is Maple, under that is Purpleheart and under that is Padauk (pronounced ‘padook’). The stack on the right is aromatic cedar (that was one where he wouldn’t cut what I needed, so I bought 12 feet and had him cut it to fit in my truck).

All in all it was a great trip, even if it was a 45 minute drive each way. Luckily I made the most of it by getting everything I need for my upcoming custom orders and was even invited back for a better tour on a non-rainy day.

And that is the bit of advice I’ll leave you with. If you are going to a lumbermill, don’t go in the pouring rain. You’ll wind up sloshing through mud at some point. Not all lumbermills, but honestly, why take that chance?

One comment on “My New Favorite Store

  1. Russ
    August 16, 2009

    I would agree…never trot off to the lumber yard when it’s raining. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2009 by and tagged , , .
