The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

8 Days a Week…or 9 or 10

I saw a news story the other night that said if you get less than 8 restful hours of sleep a night you are 50% more likely to get sick. Back in High School, this wo0uld have been no problem. I could easily sleep for 12 hours and think nothing of it. My how times change.

Although I can sleep better since having back surgery 2 years ago, I am still lucky if I am falling asleep by midnight and I am typically starting to wake up around 6am. But my insomnia aside, I’ve been taking a step back lately, really trying to analyze my available time and how it applies to my ‘to-do’ list. Probably not surprisingly, I’ve concluded that I need about 10 more hours in each day, and roughly 3 more days in the week.

Let’s start with the obvious one, the kids. My daughter goes to school 3 days a week, which means 3x each week I am running around in the morning like a madman. Honestly, those mornings are more stressful than anything else going on the rest of the week. feeding and dressing a 4 year old and a 10 month old, getting myself ready and getting the truck warmed up (since the garage is my workshop) pushes me to the brink each day.

Food shopping, house work, feeding the kids dinner and finishing that up just as the wife is getting home and then starting our dinner…my typical day runs from 7:30am until 8 or 9pm, depending on what I need to do after our daughter is in bed.

Then are the weekends, where I get to enjoy some time in the shop (and I’m not being smart, I really do enjoy it). My time is limited in there, but am trying to finish my daughter’s birthday gift, finish my ductwork for the dust collector, finish the plans for the dump truck and get started on the Bunny Rabbit pull toy I’m planning to have in time for Easter.

So I figure if I could add those 10 hours to my day, and 3 more days to the week, I’d have at least enough time in a day for a second cup of coffee 🙂

One comment on “8 Days a Week…or 9 or 10

  1. ChezChani
    January 14, 2009

    Time seems to be the bane of all crafters’ existence. Never enough of it, and I don’t even have kids….don’t know how you parents do it. I always wish I only needed 4 hours of sleep like Martha Stewart, I could get so much more done. Or………….if I was rich and didn’t have to work, that would free up oodles of time!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2009 by .
