The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Order in the Chaos

img_4171

Sometimes when I work, things can get a bit chaotic. Not the running around like a madman kind of chaotic, but more of a chaotic workspace. And it’s certainly not intentional. I usually don’t even realize it.

When I’m working on something, it is getting my full concentration. Don’t bother talking to me- I’ll just nod and agree with no recollection of any sort of conversation being had. Music fades in and out, and sometimes I really wonder if that last thought I had stayed in my head or if I spoke it out loud. Not always, though. Sometimes I am sure I spoke it out loud.

What you see above is what my family got to see this weekend sprawled out on our dining room table. I’ve started the inlay process for my daughter’s biplane, and nothing was distracting me during this process. A monarch butterfly printed out, taped to a piece of carbon paper and carefully traced onto the future wing, a piece of Yellowheart with an amazing flame pattern to it. I used a sort of negative cardboard cutout of the wing shape so I could move it along the Yellowheart to find the best spot to capture the the grain.

It wasn’t until this morning that I took a look at it and simply thought “What a mess.” I had the Purpleheart and Ebony there to try getting an idea of how it is going to look together. My safety glasses for the practice carvings I was doing. And the practice piece sitting there, well, really for no reason other than I pushed it aside and started working on the real deal.

I suppose I could try being neater about it all, but where’s the fun in that? I somehow have managed to find order in the chaos, so I’m guessing this won’t change any time soon.

2 comments on “Order in the Chaos

  1. Melissa
    December 29, 2008

    That’s what a project table should look like! You should see what my dining room looks like when I bust out all the beads in my collection!

    I can’t wait to see pictures of the finished product.

  2. ChezChani
    December 29, 2008

    I doubt there are very many neat artists. Too much neatness and organization stifle creativity. At least that’s what I tell myself in order to feel better about my complete disaster of a craft room.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 29, 2008 by and tagged , .
