The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Break the Cycle

The world around us is filled with common misconceptions. People will look at something, a snapshot in time, and base a series of thoughts on that moment without any real knowledge of the situation.Take yesterday, for instance. I was driving to pick up my daughter from school when I noticed a Prius in front of me. Ahh, I thought. Here is somebody who is forward-looking. Concerned about the environment, trying to reduce their carbon footprint. No doubt somebody who is consciously aware of their impact on global warming.

Then a lit cigarette butt was thrown out the driver’s side window.

Oh well, so maybe they just wanted to save a few bucks on gas. But that was when it occurred to me that I was doing the exact thing I hate when people do to me. I’m a stay at home Dad. Our daughter will be 4 in January and our son is 8 months old, so I pretty much have my routine down pat at this point. I cannot even begin to tell you how tired I am of going somewhere only to have this conversation:

Stranger: “Aw, giving Mom a day off today?”

Me: “No, Mom is at work, I stay home with the kids.”

Stranger: “Oh wow, like Mr. Mom!”

This is usually where I get upset. I can -almost- tolerate the common thought that Mommy stays home and Daddy goes to work, but Mr. Mom? I am far from the bumbling, incompetent, borderline child endangering parent that was portrayed by that father. Depending on the results of a complex formula, which includes the time since last being called Mr. Mom by a stranger and the number of times spit up found its way to my shirt that day, my answer varies. If I’m really feeling kinda lousy, I retort:

“No, like Mr. Dad.”

That usually gets me a dirty look but maybe, just maybe, it will stop some other Dad from being called Mr. Mom. I guess you could consider it my own lit cigarette butt.

2 comments on “Break the Cycle

  1. Lisa M. Bello
    December 2, 2008

    I would just like to say hooray for stay at home dads!

    What condecending crap people throw at others. Ugh!

    More power to you Mr. Dad!!!

  2. grecowoodcrafting
    December 2, 2008

    Thanks, Lisa 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2008 by and tagged , , .
