The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

You’ve Got to Be In It to Win It

First off, let me start with my title. English classes are a distant memory, and I am having trouble remembering which title words do and do not get capitalized. I suppose I could look it up online, but I would probably get sidetracked and wind up not making a post for the second day in a row.

And on that, I had fully intended to post yesterday, but it was going to be a rant about waiting an hour in the doctor’s office. Rather than get myself worked up, I skipped posting yesterday. My apologies to my readers.

Now, onto the real topic of the day: My Dream Workshop!

As some of you know, I am using half of our 2 car garage currently for my workshop. I have it laid out pretty well, but there’s only so much you can do with a limited amount of space. Always being one to daydream, sometimes while I’m driving around I’ll see a place and wonder how it would be to set up shop there, like small buildings. A place where I can really get some elbow room going and, maybe if I’m lucky, have an employee or two some day. The problem with that is you are forced to deal with whatever constraints the building might have. But the biggest concern for me is theft- having been in retail for so many years where the top thieves are employees, it’s hard to stomach trusting an employee of my own with a set of keys and an alarm code. If you have reviewed as much video as I have where the cameras pointed in employee only areas catch theft, you’d understand.

Which always brings me back to a simpler solution, like a bigger, more customized workshop built in my back yard. Maybe the kids can put in some time there later in their teens, but it would really be meant just for me with the possibility of family. And I could really build it the way I’d want it. Did you know the New Yankee Workshop has radiant floor heating? I never would have thought to put that in a workshop, but in the North East it makes a lot of sense to help regulate temperatures during the cold months. If the shop is too cold, glue won’t properly cure.

So the other night I spilled my ideas to my wife. I told her some of the things I’d like to have in the shop, where it could be built in our yard, and how I liked having a commute that was a matter of seconds.

Then the good news- my wife promised I could have my dream workshop as soon as we win the lottery!

The problem is, we never play the lottery. Not even like we play and just haven’t won yet; we simply don’t play at all. So that leaves the building of the dream workshop up to creativity, and a hopefully successful business once I am doing this full time. As it stands I have 5 different toys that I make. Ideally, I hope to have at least 12 different toys that I make by this time next year and continue to build from there, no pun intended. It will take a lot of time and energy, but fortunately I absolutely love what I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2008 by and tagged , , .
