The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Well, So Much for a Plan

Big plans for this past weekend. Saturday was time for running some errands as a family, something my daughter particularly enjoys, and Sunday I was going to start running the duct work for my dust collector. It was all planned out. Then, Sunday morning we noticed our cat had thick drool along her right cheek.

OK, throw a bath into the plan for the day for the cat. But the drool wasn’t going away, and the cat hadn’t had much of an appetite lately. We thought she must have found something to cut her mouth on. Our entire house is pretty well baby-proofed, so exactly what she could have cut her mouth on baffled us, but we didn’t know what else it might be. So off to the Animal Hospital I go.

Sadly, our pet of ten years and the sister of a cat we lost to Diabetes just a couple of months ago had severe mouth cancer. They said it is an extremely aggressive cancer, and it must be. She had been given a clean bill of health during a check up just 5 months ago, with blood work and everything.

Needless to say, none of us were expecting that. I called my wife so she could try explaining to our daughter what happened, but I guess she didn’t fully understand. When I got home, her first words to me were “Where’s my kitty?” 😦

We all miss her, but she is with her sister now. I think it’s gonna be some time before we get another pet, though.

2 comments on “Well, So Much for a Plan

  1. Tami
    November 11, 2008

    Hi John, so sorry about your kitty..I lost mine last December, and I’m still not ready to get another. Checking out your blog..your toys are awesome!
    Tami @ pinkbuttercreme.etsy

  2. grecowoodcrafting
    November 11, 2008

    Thank you, Tami 🙂 And I am very sorry to hear about your cat 😦

    -John

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2008 by .
