The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

No Love for Hot Weather

The cool weather is here, and boy am I loving it! There are a few reasons for this.

First, I hate being hot. When it’s hot outside and you need to cool down, there’s only so much you can do. But if it’s cool or cold, you can add layers of clothes. A much easier solution, and to me, better than sweating to death. I just don’t handle heat well. Here’s an example. The wife and I were in Cancun and we did this pirate ship dinner thing. Now, even though we were on the water and it was evening, I was sweating like it was my job. Everybody on the pirate ship were playing along to their role, except for one lady who broke character to ask me if I was OK.

Yep- I’m fine, just ready to jump overboard to cool down in the water is all. Thanks for asking.

Moving right along, we have the next reason why I prefer the cool weather- the foliage! We live in South Jersey and are surrounded by trees. It is absolutely gorgeous here in the fall! A friend of mine that I grew up with in North Jersey (near Giants Stadium) visited recently and said “Wow, this doesn’t even seem like NJ”. It really is amazing just how much variety this little state has to offer.

The last reason I like the cool weather- grass goes dormant 🙂 Sure, there are leaves to rake. And rake. And rake. Did I mention we are surrounded by trees? But the upside is no more mowing, edging and weed whacking until the Spring. That makes me 🙂

Now, one down side which hadn’t been a down side before is my garage. Now that I work out of my garage, I am keenly aware of just how cold it can get in there. I’ve put 1″ thick foam insulation boards on the inside of the garage doors and next will be basically sealing off the windows in there with more foam and some plastic window shrink wrap-type stuff.

The problem is, even after I do this, I think I’m going to have to figure out how to get some heat going in there. If the temperature drops below 70 degrees, the wood glue won’t cure properly. But if I bring a space heater in there I’m afraid of ignition from th sawdust in the air. I definitely have some researching to do, I can’t be the first person to have this problem.

Well, that is about all I have to say on that. Tomorrow we’re going to the Zoo, so no entry here BUT! Saturday be sure to check out EtsyNJ.com to see my wrap-up of the past 2 Top 5 Tuesdays 🙂

One comment on “No Love for Hot Weather

  1. lieslree
    October 27, 2008

    Finally, a kindred spirit! I’m not a fan of hot weather either. It seems like everyone dreads fall. But it’s my favorite season. And it really is so pretty here in the North East.
    My relatives moved out to Colorado a year or so ago and just came back to NJ for a visit and were able to enjoy the changing leaves. Apparently, they don’t have many trees where they are. And the ones they do are mostly evergreen.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2008 by and tagged , , , , , , .
