The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

No, Really- Does it Matter?

I try to avoid political posts on my blog, but I am just fed up. After reading a headline dubbed “Palin Has New Nickname for Obama” all I could think was, does it really matter?

I think the majority of Americans know who they are going to vote for, and barring any sot of serious change, like their candidate dropping out of the race, those votes won’t change. The race has become so polarized, that I believe the negativity is only further strengthening the way people feel about their candidate.

On the other hand, there are some undecided voters. Now, these voters are people who want to know as much as they can about a candidates platform before voting. Smear ads, mud slinging, misleading statements about each other- those are not way you will win over the majority of those undecideds. Explaining, in detail, how you plan to help them, will. I think, additionally, voters want to feel like they have a connection with the person they vote for. A sense of “They get me. They understand my situation”.

McCain is putting up a tough fight, but what he really needs to do is get Palin off of scripted speeches and just talking to people. If you happened to see her on Saturday Night Live, while she was watching Tina Fey give a mock press conference, her comment was something like “That’s not how my press conferences would have gone”. Would have gone?? As in, if she were to actually have them…but that would mean calling off her handlers. I’m still not entirely sure what I think of her, mostly because she hasn’t gotten to show us who she really is.

So there’s my little rant lol. I know who I’ll be voting for, and honestly- I can’t wait for November 4th so we can just get on with fixing things already.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2008 by and tagged , , , , .
