The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

It’s Monday Already?

Sometimes the weekends just go too fast. his one as no different. Saturday started off with my wife and I watching our niece and nephew for a few hours. We love having them over, and our daughter does, too. Our daughter is 3 and a half, my niece is about to turn 3 and my nephew is about to turn 2. They played together and watched some Blue’s Clue’s over the course of a few hours.

We started with some of my “slightly modified” pancakes (I’ve found a good recipe that is a slight variation of what th box says to mix. I’d go into further detail, but that is Classified info, buster!) and wrapped up with some peanut butter and jelly on whole wheat. In-between snacks were yogurt covered raisins, which my daughter loves but apparently my niece and nephew weren’t crazy about.

After they left, everybody in the house took a nice long nap lol. I know, I’m not that old (yet) but I am still trying to kick this cold and needed to re-energize for Sunday. A rather uneventful Saturday night led into my usual insomnia, making me extra grateful for that nap I had taken earlier.

Sunday morning- rise and shine! A quick run on the lawn mower with some edging and weed whacking got the morning started, followed by a shower that didn’t quite wake me up as much as I had hoped. We packed, fed th baby and we were off to Washington’s Crossing for the day. Usually we get some sandwiches to bring along for a picnic there, but the place we used to get them from shut down šŸ˜¦ We wound up getting Burger King, which doesn’t make for much of a picnic, but we made the best of it. My daughter and I got to fly her kite which she did really well with I have to say. Then her and my wife played some soccer and made leaf rubbings. Last, was our walk down to the Ferry House. Here are a few pictures, showing why we choose this time of year to go there:

The pictures really don’t do it justice, but you get the idea. Next weekend will be the first weekend I get to have time in the workshop in 3 weeks, so I’m looking forward to that. We’re also going to get our pumpkin- yay! Meanwhile, I hope you all enjoy your Monday šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2008 by and tagged .
