The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

My Son Rocks…I Think

I love music. If I had to describe the type of music I like, I would say Rock in general, but not all Rock. Soft rock doesn’t really do it for me. Heavy Metal is good as long as I can actually make out what the band is singing- none of that “this is how long I can growl” in place of lyrics. A lot of times good lyrics can make me enjoy a song despite it maybe lacking some musical talent. Other times solid tunes will be enough to get me to overlook less than interesting lyrics.

There are some songs that are neither particularly well written musically or lyrically, yet still seem to really grab hold of you. Let’s take a minute to reflect on the lyrical prowess of Quiet Riot:

Im an axe grinder, pile driver
Mama says that I never, never mind her
Got no brains, I’m insane
The teacher says that I’m one big pain
I’m like a lazer, six string razor
I’ve got a mouth like an alligator
I want it louder, more power
I’m gonna rock it till it strikes the hour
Chorus
Bang your head
Metal health will drive you mad
Bang your head
Metal health will drive you mad
I’m frustrated and out-dated
I really wanna be over-rated
I’m a finder and I’m a keeper
I’m not a loser, and I ain’t no weeper
I got the boys to make the noise
Won’t ever let up, hope it annoys you
Join the pack fee the crack
Well now you’re here, there’s no way back!!!!!!
Chorus
Metal health will cure your crazy
Metal health will cure your mad
Metal health is what we all need
It’s like a heart attack!!!!!!!
Bang your head wake the dead
We’re all metal mad, its all you have
So bang your head and raise the dead oh yeah
Metal health it drives you mad, mad, mad, mad
Chorus
(Over chorus to fade..)
Ah get your straightjackets on tonight ohh
The bad boys are gonna set you right
Oh rock ya, rock ya, rock ya

Yep- those lyrics with the 4 or 5 power chords is enough to get me slapping my hands on the steering wheel and singing in the car as if nobody can hear me. Which they can’t, and you should each take a moment to count yourselves lucky in that respect.

This came on the radio today on my way back home after dropping my daughter off at school today, ending just as I pulled into the driveway (don’t you love it when that happens?). I get out, still singing to myself in my head and walk to the other side to get my 7 month son out- who is SOUND ASLEEP!

I actually stood there for a minute, shocked. At first I thought wow- Quiet Riot was like a lullaby for him! Then thought wait…maybe it was so boring for him it put him to sleep? What if *gasp* he doesn’t like rock?! I mean, if he did I would’ve thought he’d be wide eyed and upset the music stopped- not out cold catching some shut eye.

My daughter, for instance, loves Rock. She will walk up to me and say “Daddy, I want to listen to some Rock ‘N’ Roll!”, pumping a fist into the air as she says “rock ‘n’ roll”. Last year there was a block party with a live band playing 60’s and 70’s rock. To watch her, you would’ve thought she was in the middle of a sick mosh pit- thrashing around and just having a blast. So this has been my expectation- that my kids like rock. Until today.

Maybe during the day I just need to have less news and more rock playing. Besides, even Quiet Riot says Metal Health is what we all need 🙂

2 comments on “My Son Rocks…I Think

  1. Lisa
    October 22, 2008

    After reading this, I must share: The first song I ever caught my daughter singing along to was Rob Zombie’s “Living Dead Girl.” She was 4 years old.
    Cherish these times, they grow up so fast and start listing to stuff like the Jonas Brothers. 😦

  2. grecowoodcrafting
    October 22, 2008

    Oh no lol. I’m definitely not looking forward to that stage.

    Incidentally, Rob Zombie is an amazing live 🙂

    -John

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2008 by and tagged , , .
