The Blog for GW Pens

A peek at what we make

Goodbye eBay. It’s Been, Well, Goodbye.

I have had a shop on eBay for a couple of months now. At first, I was pretty excited about it. Then I started to find out some things that could inhibit my ability to sell there. Like what? For starters, search results are sorted with higher rated sellers first, then trickling down to the “little” guy. I have perfect feedback at 136, but that’s nothing compared to those with 1k or even 5k feedback.

Also, they are removing the option of paying by cash, check or money order UNLESS it is an “in person” pick up item. That means forcing people to use digital payment, which translates into PayPal- which they own. With my Etsy shop I accept PayPal, but at least I’m not forced to make that the only means of payment I accept (if I want to accept credit cards on eBay or anywhere else, I have to pay monthly and transaction fee’s).

So http://www.GrecoWoodcrafting.com is now set to forward to my shop on Etsy instead of eBay. Aside from lower listing fee’s and no subscription fee’s, Etsy is specifically for hand made items. So because people aren’t trying to get through all of the resellers and wholesalers of manufactured items, my toys have a better chance to be seen. And my hit counts show it, too! In just over 1 week my Executive Biplane has 75 hits, whereas on eBay after nearly 1 month it had 30.

The next thing I will try is going to be Craigslist. There are some reports over on the Etsy forums of people having success with it. If that doesn’t work, at least it was free πŸ™‚

Lastly, I have a new idea in mind for, well….you just might have to wait to see.

4 comments on “Goodbye eBay. It’s Been, Well, Goodbye.

  1. craftyjuicebroker
    August 29, 2008

    I sold on Ebay too… Since I’ve found Etsy… I can’t be happier! I love it, the way it’s so user friendly! Good luck to you!

    Cherie

  2. grecowoodcrafting
    August 29, 2008

    Thanks, Cherie! Same to you πŸ™‚

  3. alexladydesigns
    February 16, 2009

    I was never over on ebay, but good for you for all your hits on etsy! Your toys are just exquisite, and your photography shows them off so well.

    i’m interested in 1000 markets, but i worry that i won’t keep up both shops to my best advantage… how do you like it over there?

    http://www.alexladydesigns.etsy.com

  4. grecowoodcrafting
    February 16, 2009

    Thank you very much, AlexLady πŸ™‚

    I really enjoy being on 1000 Markets. There’s no listing fee, so aside from time, it doesn’t cost you anything to get started. The people who run the site do a great job of interacting with the merchants and considering any suggestions people have.

    Within the site are marketplaces, run by other merchants on a volunteer basis (like the Child’s Play market that I manage (shameless plug! lol)). Each market was formed around a set of ideas that goes beyond just being a collection of items and really helps to add a sense of community among the merchants.

    I hope you think about giving it a shot, I think you would really enjoy it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2008 by and tagged , , , , .
