New Pen Line!

As promised, Greco Woodcrafting now has a new line of pens! Called my ‘introductory’ line, these are meant to be an affordable option for people who are new to using a handcrafted pen and might be hesitant to spend too much on trying one out (I certainly never want any customer to have buyer’s remorse). And at just $20 each, these are also at a great price point to be gifts for teachers, co-workers, friends, or family.

Purple with White Swirl Handcrafted Pen from the Greco Woodcrafting Introductory Line of Pens.

Pink and Purple Swirl Handcrafted Pen from the Greco Woodcrafting Introductory Line of Pens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

There were a few things that led me to create this $20 line of pens. The first is my firm belief that there are people who have never tried a handcrafted pen, yet are very interested in doing so. Part of the problem, I believe, is that so many less expensive pens leave the customer wondering if they are simply buying some of the maker’s “Oops!” stock. That is to say, the pens were less expensive because they had flaws.

And although I’m a bit of a dreamer, I’m also a realist. News about the economic times we are living in is everywhere. I’ve had people pick up my pens at shows with that glimmer in their eyes. The glimmer that says “This is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen”, only to have the shopper tell me they need to start saving up for one of my pens. That kind of makes me sad, because although I can’t let them set their own price, I hate seeing somebody love what I make that much and have to walk away empty handed.

So what’s the difference? The introductory line costs me a little less than some of the others of a similar style that I make, but the design itself is also a bit more simple. For instance, the front of my more expensive acrylic slim pens have a little double bump for both aesthetics and handling. The rear also has a little flare out that mushrooms slightly near the very tail end. These little details take more time to shape, sand and buff, also lending to the higher price. The introductory line has simple tapers at the ends with a slightly larger front for an easier grip.

The best part is that no matter which of my pens you buy, whether it is $20 or $200, every pen gets the same level of attention to detail as my pens carried by the Philadelphia Independence Seaport Museum. And just like anything else on my website, every introductory pen is ready to ship anywhere in the world!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “New Pen Line!

  1. Wade McCloskey

    Great job on the pens John, you are da Bomb!

  2. Thanks, Wade!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,120 other followers

